Chair’s Message | Student Research Highlights

Sept. 24, 2021

Dear Cybersecurity and Privacy community,

As I mentioned last week, our school had eight papers accepted to the upcoming Association for Computing Machinery Conference on Computer and Communications Security, a tier one academic conference. Since we are celebrating SCP students this fall, I will take time this week to highlight some of the student involvement in these research papers.

We have over a dozen Ph.D. students who co-authored research that will be presented at the conference, as well as several who will make presentations themselves. Two of these students are wrapping up their studies with us and I can’t think of a better way for them to complete their time at Georgia Tech then presenting at one of the biggest cybersecurity conferences of the year. 

Jonathan Fuller is a Ph.D. student in the Cyber Forensics Innovation Laboratory. Jonathan and his advisor Dr. Brendan Saltaformaggio have spent the past year and a half developing C3P0, a software framework that allows researchers to covertly monitor command and control servers and eventually disrupt bot networks. Jonathan earned his master’s degree in Computer Science at the Air Force Institute of Technology and once he graduates, he will begin his career as a cybersecurity researcher at the Army Cyber Institute at West Point. 

The second Ph.D. student I want to recognize today is Carter Yagemann works with Dr. Saltaformaggio and Dr. Wenke Lee. Carter will be presenting two sets of results: one on novel techniques for bug hunting in user software and another on a new type of cyberattack that targets data lineage. After finishing his Ph.D., Carter will pursue an academic career where he can continue exploring his research interests of computer, vulnerability discovery and prevention, machine learning, mobile operating systems security, and systems security with focuses on binary analysis.

Each student presenter will have 20 minutes to present their findings to the conference audience and then five minutes to answer questions. Please join me in congratulating these 16 School of Cybersecurity and Privacy Ph.D. students:

  • Amit Sikder
  • Berat Arik
  • Carter Yagemann 
  • David Heath
  • Ehsan Asdar
  • Fan Sang
  • Gururaj Saileshwar
  • Haichuan Xu
  • Jonathan Fuller
  • Ranjita Pai Kasturi
  • Ren Ding
  • Sean Sahin
  • Simon P. Chung
  • Vivek Verma 
  • Wen Xu
  • Yonghae Kim

Remember to watch for announcements of the SCP Student Townhall later this semester. If you’re interested in getting more involved send me a quick note or contact Karl Grindal

I hope you have a great weekend.


Richard DeMillo

Chair, School of Cybersecurity and Privacy

Charlotte B. And Roger C. Warren Chair of Computing

Visit me at

Follow me @rad_atl and @richde